The seat of Lingiari


Lingiari covers the majority of the Northern Territory, with the exception of the Darwin Municipality and most of the Palmerston Municipality.

Lingiari includes the Territory of Cocos (Keeling) Islands and the Territory of Christmas Island.

Formed in 2001,  the division is named in honor of Vincent Lingiari AM  who was a member of the Gurindji people from the Victoria River District.

 Mr Lingiari was a champion of marginalized peoples, working for many years to improve conditions for Aboriginal people. In 1966, he led the walk-off of his people from Wave Hill Station, which eventually resulted in the establishment of Wattie Creek and a land grant to the Gurindji people.

Today, the division of Lingiari features some of Australia's most recognizable international icons, such as Uluru,Kakadu national park and plenty of pristine marine parks! 


Michael Gravener 4 Lingiari Authorised by Michael Gravener Independent for Lingiari, PMB 127, Arlparra Homeland, Utopia NT. Commonwealth resources are not used to fund this website.